The struggle is real

I was listening to one of my devotionals called Fight of your Life: Your Time of Grace this morning and the key thing that stood out for me was that everyday the struggle between your flesh and your spirit is real.

I believe we all have within us a part of us which yearns for Christ, loves to do God’s will and another which is attracted to sin and to the things of this world; the battle between these two parts is fierce. Reading the scripture Romans 7:17-20 makes it apparent, i liked the Message Bible version which said:

“But I need something more!For if I know the law but still can’t keep it, and if the power of sin within me keeps sabotaging my best intentions, I obviously need help! I realize that I don’t have what it takes. I can will it, but I can’t do it. I decide to do good, but I don’t really do it; I decide not to do bad, but then I do it anyway. My decisions, such as they are, don’t result in actions. Something has gone wrong deep within me and gets the better of me every time.”

We all want to do good, and be better people well at least i think we do, lol. However everyday we are faced with situations, trials and temptations and sometimes they overcome us. Like the scripture says, WE OBVIOUSLY NEED HELP, alone we cannot do this. So how or where can we get this help from? Remember earlier i wrote about the two parts we have within us? It is how and what we feed these two parts that determines who we become, what, as Pastor Tommy Deuschle preached recently, we allow to filter our minds What are we a slave to? If we are constantly feeding ourselves with trash soon enough we will start to stink. If we continously become passive to sin, boundaries become more and more blurry until they disappear. Soon enough we begin to stand for anything and everything besides what God  says. Imagine that, the emptiness that comes with it, and believe me this is the place that the devil EVERYDAY of your life strives for you to be, and it is a lonely place.

The ONLY sure thing that is filling to your soul, the only truth that WILL set you free is Jesus. He has given you ammunition, HIS WORD, to fight for your life everyday. He himself went through every temptation and he used the true word of God to resist the devil. In Matthew 4:1-11 Satan came at him with all these lies and Jesus fought back with what God said in His word. This is the same with us, everyday the devil comes at us with lies, abuses us, makes us feel unworthy, fill us with shame, remind us of our past mistakes, ruin our businesses or bring poverty. It’s tough, we may not have the strength to overcome UNLESS we use the only powerful ammunition we have, which is the word of God. The only way you can use this ammunition is if you get it, if you know it. Going about your life without God and his word is like going to war without a shield or amour. It’s suicide. This is why the word says in Ephesians 6: 11-13:

11 Put on the full armor of God, so that you can take your stand against the devil’s schemes. 12 For our struggle is not against flesh and blood, but against the rulers, against the authorities, against the powers of this dark world and against the spiritual forces of evil in the heavenly realms.13 Therefore put on the full armor of God, so that when the day of evil comes, you may be able to stand your ground, and after you have done everything, to stand.

spiritual-war

It says it all, I urge you to read the word of God and know it for yourself. Do not wait to hear it at church from your pastor, read it and understand it for you. God wants you to know him personally, he wants an intimate relationship with you. How you get to know him is through his word. Take time to study it, use it to fight the fight everyday, your soul craves it. The struggle is real everyday, it’s hard to believe things can get better sometimes, especially in this nation, in the world we live in. But God says, I got you, I know all you’re facing, but fix my eyes on me and I will take care of the rest!!

download (3)

 

Leave a Reply

