Don’t waste your time

images (11)

(Lessons from Tai Lopez)

Lately I have been asking the questions: what is really preventing me from achieving my goals? Why don’t i work on them daily? Where am i spending most of my time and with who? What are the things I am involved in and why? Are they benefiting me?I decided to take a step back, scrutinize my life and do some spring cleaning.

wasting-time-quotes-credited-quotes-SqOyp4-quote

I came across Tai Lopez’s video about “8 ways to not waste time and procrastinate” I found it really interesting, it felt like he was speaking about me. In this video he is talking about the lessons he learnt from reading an old book “On the Shortness of Life”  he found in a bookstore. The first thing he said that drew my attention was:

“It’s not that we have a short time to live, but that we waste a lot of it. Life is long enough and a sufficiently generous amount has been given to you for the highest achievements”

Imagine if you spent your time wisely, never wasted it on things that didn’t matter and you were just always spot on? Not possible, well for me because I am a human being, I am not perfect and I easily get distracted and it sucks, but that’s alright. What matters is that i am working on it a day at a time, realizing the things that distract me and each day working on getting those things distract me less. Here are some of the distractions he listed that got me thinking:

  • Dedication to useless tasks
  • Laziness
  • Worrying what other people think of you
  • Being too invested in non-progressive relationships
  • Going after non fixed goals, tossed about in ever changing plans by fickleness which is shifting.

 

I have been guilty of all of these, but no use crying over spilled milk, that’s in the past, but I can do something now to change my future and so can you! So how do we fix this? These are some of the suggestions he made:

  1. “Don’t be so liberal with your time.” You’d rather be liberal with money because you can always make more but you CANNOT get back time!

  2. Don’t let the mind become overactive. The mind when distracted absorbs nothing deeply but rejects everything when the brain is crammed.” You cannot be thinking for hours on things that you should only be thinking about for minutes and vice versa. I’d find myself dwelling on failure, heartbreak, or opportunities missed for way longer than necessary. Those things are somewhat inevitable, it’s good to take time to recoup or heal, but not too much time honey, rather focus on what you can do about it, the best you can be and what God has prepared for you 🙂
  3. “Don’t spend your life in ORGANIZING your life.” It’s good to put your life in order but at some point you actually gotta live your life.
  4. “Do not put off to tomorrow what you can do today”
  5. “Read more, listen to audio books, attend seminars” NEVER STOP LEARNING, LOVE LEARNING.
  6. “Don’t waste time on pointless activities”. It’s good to take time to relax, but only take a break because you deserve it.

It was quite a lot to take in but also really interesting to learn. There were a lot of “ouch” moments personally, but the exciting thing is that I am in control of what happens hereon and now. As we all know, change does not happen overnight, but each day if we strive to do better than the last, just imagine the endless possibilities.

I hope this helps someone, it surely helped me and as is my custom, let’s hear what the creator of time has to say about how we use is:

Ephesians 5:15-17 So, then, be careful how you live. Do not be unwise but wise, making the best use of your time because the times are evil. Therefore, do not be foolish, but understand what the Lord’s will is.

Psalm 90:12 Teach us to number our days, that we may gain a heart of wisdom.

Proverbs 21:5 The plans of the diligent lead only to plenty, but everyone who is hasty comes only to poverty.

Psalm 37:5 Commit your way to the LORD; trust in Him, and He will act.

 

 

5 Replies to “Don’t waste your time”

Leave a Reply

